Which UAE free zone fits your business
| Free zone | What it publishes for a licence | Time to a licence, as the authority states it | Typical fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| DMCC | Licence AED 20,285 a year plus one-off application (AED 1,035), registration (AED 9,020) and articles (AED 2,020) fees; Basic Biz Package AED 35,484 | 2 to 3 weeks for the whole process | Trading and professional services |
| ADGM | Non-financial (Category B) licence US$5,800 initial and US$5,300 annual; financial (Category A) US$17,000 initial | 10 business days once all requirements are met | Financial and regulated activity; a physical office address in ADGM is required |
| RAKEZ | Biz Starter package AED 6,000 with coworking membership; residence visas applied for separately | 24 hours on the Biz Starter page | Small service businesses |
| Meydan | From AED 12,500 for the trade licence, up to three activity groups and a flexi-desk | online within 24 hours, as Meydan advertises | Digital businesses with one or two people |
| JAFZA | Licence from AED 5,000 by type; a leased facility for every company | not stated in its guide | Goods, warehousing, logistics |
| IFZA | setup through its network of Professional Partners | not stated | Service businesses; ask for an itemised quote |
Figures are the authorities' own, checked on 21 October 2026; the full table with every line and source is in UAE free zone fees compared. Visas come on top in every zone, and each package states whether the workspace is included.
What a free zone setup consultant does for you
- Picks the zone on facts. Your activity, visa count and office needs against each zone's published rules, with the reasons written down.
- Builds one budget. Authority fees, visa fees, workspace and our fee as separate lines, so you can compare like with like.
- Files the licence. Trade name, activity list, shareholders and managers, the memorandum and articles.
- Runs the visas. Establishment card, entry permits, medical tests and Emirates ID for everyone in the plan.
- Registers for Corporate Tax. For a company incorporated on or after 1 March 2024 the application is due within three months of incorporation; the FTA has stated that a late application carries an administrative penalty of AED 10,000.
- Prepares the bank file. The bank reviews the owners, the source of funds, the activity and the substance of the company. We build the file to the checklist of the bank you apply to: UAE corporate banking.
How long a UAE free zone company takes
In our experience a standard free zone setup runs one to four weeks start to finish. The authority, the visa centre and the bank each set their own pace, and a complex ownership chain or a regulated activity adds time. The stages and the times the authorities publish are in the process block below.
Corporate Tax for a free zone company
Every free zone company registers for UAE Corporate Tax, including one that expects the 0% rate. The 0% rate applies to the qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets the conditions, and its other taxable income is taxed at 9%. A company outside that regime pays 9% on taxable income above AED 375,000. The conditions, and when a mainland licence is the better route, are in Free zone vs mainland in the UAE.
Why founders trust INNOVA with a UAE free zone
- One named partner runs the file from scoping to the bank account and stays on it for banking, tax and compliance.
- A written reply within 24 hours to every request, and the exact fee in writing once we have scoped the task.
- Authority fees are named upfront as the authority publishes them, apart from our fee.
- We have worked in international business since 2012. INNOVA coordinates the UAE file end to end, with vetted local specialists where local execution is required.
- A paid 30-minute consultation (USD 99) is credited in full to the project.
Book a paid consultation (USD 99, credited to the project) · Leave a request · Related: UAE company formation guide, UAE business bank account.
Updated 21 October 2026. Authority figures checked on the DMCC, ADGM, RAKEZ, Meydan, JAFZA and IFZA pages and against FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 on 21 October 2026; fees can change without notice.

